#ThrowbackThursday

Source: Retro Old Commericals

‘My mate up the road, Rob, was the first to get a television, we were in 5th class when his family first got their colour television. The culture of television was abundantly different back then. The television was a place where all the neighbours would gather around to watch Skippy or the latest episode of the Brady Bunch. The television, even though it was a lousy 48cm wide and harder to get reception than being with Vodaphone these days, was a place for enlightenment and laughter, all I can remember is joy from watching television as a little tacker.

Once my father let us have our own television, there was one in the lounge room, and a miniature portable one that would shift from bedroom to bedroom depending on who was sick at the time. My father was an avid sports nut, he was really into wrestling and football. However, when the sport wasn’t on, my sister and I would watch our favourite TV show, Disneyland, which was on at dinner time every Sunday night.

My favourite memory of television was when my father would let me stay up past my bedtime, which was 7:30pm, to watch Homicide and Division 4, and I was so petrified watching them that I couldn’t sleep at all that night. I’d then sneak out and grab the portable TV and take it to my bedroom, only to hear the droning sound of the test pattern.

On the flip side, I can’t remember once watching television when I’d finished school, I was always playing in the big swamp out the back of my house, or chasing my sister around forcing her to play Cowboys and Indians with me. I would only ever watch television once it was dark, and I wasn’t allowed to play outside anymore, or as a neighbourhood laughing and joking together. It’s sad to think young kids these days don’t get to experience what I had when I was a child.’

– My Father

Throughout the interview, as I was fervently scribbling notes in my iPhone, I couldn’t help but scrunch up my nose or groan at the thought of having a 48cm television with a huge box attached to the back, or having to constantly get up and fiddle with the dials to make viewing less snowy. Once again, I couldn’t help but chuckle at the irony. As my father was trying to recall his earliest memories, his 50inch, high definition 3D television was blaring in the background, and his iPad was placed on his lap as he was searching the web and reminiscing of the shows he watched as a ‘young tacker’.

Leave a Reply

