Procrasti…

Throughout my studies, I have become a master of procrastination, as are many of you, I would assume. As the master of procrastination, I wouldn’t expect any less of myself than to have at least 4 tabs open, including that of, Facebook, Twitter and two hotel comparison websites fighting over my cheapskate ass.

However, I’d come to realise this is all research, and I have subconsciously endeavoured into the 7 steps of the research process:

1. Observation: Browsing 5 star hotels with private suites in the Maldives that I know I can’t afford.

2. Initial Data Gathering: I get that you can see fish through the glass of the floor, but is that really worth $1500 a night?! Not in my books…

3. Theory Formulation: I obviously can’t afford the Maldives, how about the Greek Islands?

4. Hypothesis Formulation: Ah-ha! Like a third of the price and way more partying! My kind of holiday.

5. Further Data Gathering: Shopping, drinking, relaxing and so many activities! What more could you want.

6. Data Analysis: I now have to search every single hotel website to get the best deal, being the cheapskate that I am.

7. Deduction: Booked a holiday I can totally afford now! Almost…

Undertaking research is part of our everyday living, whether it is consciously or subconsciously. “Most of us do what could be called ‘research’ all the time – even though we may not think of what we are doing as research” (Berger 2014, p. 15). So when you read your favourite magazine to expose yourself to the latest trends, or even search for the cheapest price to buy those pair of shoes you really want, you’re conducting research. Chester states that we, as Australians, spend a whopping 10 hours and 19 minutes on average per day on our devices (2013), of that, how much do you think is researching? Quite a lot, I’d say.

Scholarly research, however, (the stuff you do at uni) is far more advanced. Berger (2014, p.15) states that “scholarly research is, generally speaking, more systematic, more objective, more careful, and more concerned about correctness and truthfulness”. Conflicting the general stereotype of people not liking research, I quite enjoy it, possibly because I was always good at maths, or even because I am very anal and organised. Hence why I chose to pursue a career in marketing, it involves two components I very much enjoy, research and creativity.

References

Berger, A 2014, ‘What is research?’, in (3rd ed.) Media and communication research methods : an introduction to qualitative and quantitative approaches, SAGE, Los Angeles, pp. 13-32

Chester, R 2013, Aussies use electronic gadgets for 10 hours a day , report reveals, News.com.au, viewed 18 March 2015, <http://www.news.com.au/technology/aussies-use-electronic-gadgets-for-10-hours-a-day-report-reveals/story-e6frfro0-122669542305&gt;.

Leave a Reply

